At Key Stage 3 Years 7-8 our pupils will be taught to:

In Year 7 pupils  will focus on Healthy Eating make a range of mainly savoury products that are low in fat and sugar and good for you to eat, which may include some of the following, fruit salad, pizza toast and pasta salad.

In Year 8 pupils will learn all about staple foods and make foods from around the world as well as learning about nutrition and dietary groups and their needs. The practical work builds on the skills from year 7. The dishes made may include stir fry, fajitas macaroni cheese, bolognaise sauce and Anzac biscuits.

Year 9

If students opt to follow the new GCSE Food preparation and nutrition course ,this year they will extend their basic skills from Year 7 and 8 and get a taster for the GCSE course. Students follow a heavy practical skills based course and develop more complex skills to further their knowledge and skills of equipment and cooking techniques.


Subject content – what is covered?

What's assessed:


Theoretical knowledge of food preparation and nutrition from subject content. This is assessed by  a written exam: 1 hour 45 minutes which is worth 50% of GCSE.


What's assessed:

Task 1: Food investigation (15%)

Students' understanding of the working characteristics, functional and chemical properties of ingredients.

Practical investigations are a compulsory element of this NEA task.

Task 2: Food preparation assessment (35%)

Students' knowledge, skills and understanding in relation to the planning, preparation, cooking, presentation of food and application of nutrition related to the chosen task.

Students will prepare, cook and present a final menu of three dishes within three hours, planning in advance how this will be achieved.

How it's assessed:
Task 1: Written or electronic report (1,500–2,000 words) including photographic evidence of the practical investigation (15% of GCSE)

Task 2: Written or electronic portfolio including photographic evidence. Photographic evidence of the three final dishes must be included. (35% of GCSE)

Click on an image below to view gallery

The food curriculum is based around teaching pupils about making wise choices for healthy eating. This means that all pupils will learn how to prepare and cook basic meals. The curriculum teaches the basic cooking skills that are required on a day-to-day basis. The skills get more complex as they progress from Year 7 to Year 8.